Elections Committee Modifies July Candidates’ Forum Format

The Elections Committee has modified the format of the second Ocean Pines Candidates’ Forum, which is scheduled for Saturday, July 22 at 10 a.m. at the Assateague Room in the Ocean Pines Community Center, to provide more interaction among the Board of Directors candidates.

Unlike the first forum this election season, the four candidates- Colette Horn, Nicole Schafer Crosariol, Douglas Parks and Martin Clarke- will submit questions they would like to ask candidates to discuss. Candidates will have two minutes to answer each question. After all four candidates have given their two-minute response, each candidate will be given one minute for a rebuttal/comment. This is a modification from the Candidates’ Forum that took place on June 21.

The format for the question-and-answer session will be similar to previous forums in that the candidates will be asked questions in a rotating order. Each candidate will also have an opportunity for a three-minute opening statement and a three-minute closing statement.

The Elections Committee is encouraging members of the Association to also submit questions for the second Candidates’ Forum, where candidates running for the Board of Directors are invited to express their positions on Ocean Pines issues.

Questions, 75 words or less, can be submitted in a number of ways: members can post their question/s to the Real OP Forum (https://realopforum.com/forums/topic/2017-elections/ )or by calling the Elections Committee Telephone Hotline at 410-208-3989 or sending questions by email to Elections Committee Chair Steve Tuttle at sltuttle08@gmail.com.

The deadline for submitting questions is Friday, July 21.

The Elections Committee wants to urge folks to come, meet the candidates, hear from them and then decide who they will vote for. Ballots will be mailed on July 11 and are due on Aug. 10. Votes will be counted on Aug. 11. The two winners, each serving a three-year term, will be announced during the annual meeting on Saturday, Aug. 12 at 10 a.m. at the Assateague Room in the Ocean Pines Community Center.

For more information, contact Elections Committee Chair Steve Tuttle at sltuttle08@gmail.com or Denise Sawyer, director of marketing and public relations for the Ocean Pines Association, at (410) 641-7717 ext. 3006 or dsawyer@oceanpines.org.

Comments are closed.